top of page

Another year gone!


Things that are new and things I've done this last year in 2020!



 

This past year has been rough for all. I have been fortunate enough I've not lost anyone to the cover 19 virus. In my writing career I have stepped inch by inch closer to publishing but also I had pitfalls. Last year I did NaNoWriMo again but my gaol was different. I used it to finish my MG novel Mummaversity and I reached that goal but I didn't reach the 50,000 word goal. I enter the fall waritng contests again and didn't win again. I sent a short story to a free contest for SCBWI but I guess they didn't want to publish it because I never heard from them. I put my writing out there more but bombed. I wrote 12 picture books again for 12x12 in 2020 and did two writing barn classes. Which help me start on a chapter book series idea but I've stopped writing it because I can't get into it. I queried around ten agents and publishes and got all rejections. I joined my first Facebook children book review. groupThe biggest change this year was Christmas and New Years. We couldn't celebrate with my grandmother who is fighting breast cancer for a third time. It was strange this year and I didn't get to see my sisters either. the groups were smaller this year.


Now for the start of 2021 I signed up for some webinars through SCBWI to help me with crafting and I just joined a new critique group that hopefully will help me add more humor in my manuscript. I won the rafflecopter with 12x12 and got in the gold member group. hopefully doors will open this year for me when I query more. I am going to send in a manuscript to a new publisher and hope for the best. I might be taking a gamble because they are new but one of the owners lives close to me. Here is to a better writing year and more querying then last year. Last but not least I joined story storm 2021 this year to help me come up with new PB ideas.



2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May 2021 and writing!

Well, I was going to sign up for the Summer SCBWI Conference except I don't think fifteen minutes is enough time for each webinar. There were several of great people but I don't like to be rushed fro

First Chapter Book ONLINE CLASS

I signed up for Writing Barn. When I finished my first Writing Barn Class with Marcie Colleen I learned a lot taking her class. Like chapter books are usually a series and the character never ages. It

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page