top of page

First Contest

Fall Writing Frenzy


I had to choose an image and write a story or poem etc. about it. Here it is the story.

First writing contest I decided to entered. I thought I would try it. I may not win, but it was good practice.


Natalie Cohn

Twitter: @CohnNatalie

Prize: PB, Country US

Image # 10, Words: 194


A Room of Shadows

Ivan Inkwell, the sorcerer’s apprentice, collects kid’s shadows for fun. He loves to play with them to keep him company. Until one day, a kid name Davey sees him in action.

Knock! 

           Knock! 

SquEEAk!

“Who are you,” Ivan asks?

“I’m Davey. I know what you did.”

“So!”

“Well, shadows make a person whole. I’ve seen you at school. You are not normal,” Davey says.

“My mom wants me to be regular, but it’s hard.”  Ivan felt terrible; he loves playing games with the shadow kids. “Please, do not tell my mom about the room of shadows. I hide the room from others. Come on, Davey, I’ll show you.”

“It’s creepy in your house, but that’s pretty neat.”

Ivan perks up. 

Inside the room, shadows wisp around us. 

“Watch, I’ll show you what the shadow kids can do.”

Whoosh!  Swoosh!

“No one ever visits me. Would you like to play with the shadows?”

“Sure,” Davey says hesitantly. The shadow kids bring Ivan and Davey together.

Ivan realizes now, shadows are essential.

With help from Davey, Ivan releases the other shadows back into the world.




1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

May 2021 and writing!

Well, I was going to sign up for the Summer SCBWI Conference except I don't think fifteen minutes is enough time for each webinar. There were several of great people but I don't like to be rushed fro

Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page